Resources and Guidance

Hemp Program


The Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets will withdraw its U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) approved Hemp Production Plan as of December 31, 2022. In order to cultivate hemp in 2023 in compliance with federal law, an individual will be required to register with USDA.

Vermont Hemp Production Plan

The Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets’ Hemp Program received approval from the Agricultural Marketing Service of the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) of the Vermont Hemp Production Plan. The approved plan supports the Vermont Hemp Rules and governs registration, production, sampling and compliance for hemp cultivation beginning in 2022. The plan will be withdrawn beginning in 2023.

2022 Hemp Registration 

The Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets has opened Hemp Program registration for 2022. Applicants are able to apply for or renew an application online, adjust field locations or contact information, pay for registration, and once approved can access a copy of their registration and print maps of cultivation, drying and storage areas, processing locations and other mapped information from the registrant’s account. When mapping your cultivation area make sure to map/draw the boundaries of the cultivation areas by setting multiple points using the draw polygon tool.  The area of mapped cultivation should match the acres registered for cultivation. Failing to completely outline the boundaries of your cultivation area will result in delays in processing your application. 

Additionally in 2022 for all individuals interested in growing hemp, the individual applying as the grower registrant must obtain and submit to the Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets Hemp Program a criminal history report from the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Criminal history reports must be dated within 60 days of the Hemp Program registration application submission date. A registration application will not be considered complete without a required criminal history report. This requirement does not apply to processor only registrants of the Vermont Hemp Program. For information on how to obtain a criminal history report, please go to This includes the steps required to request a criminal history report.



The Vermont Cannabis Quality Control Program is now accepting applications to become a certified laboratory. To begin the process of becoming a certified laboratory, a person must submit a complete application, including necessary documentation, and if a full review- pay the required $1,500 fee.   The Program will conduct a pre-application review or a full review of the application materials to ensure the laboratory's accreditations, practices, procedures, and personnel meet the requirements of the Program for the testing area in which the applicant seeks certification.

The Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets established its contaminant action limits for hemp crops and products. Registrants must have their crops and products tested for the purposes of compliance with the Vermont Hemp Rules.  If you have questions regarding testing and action limits, please contact the program at


The Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets (AAFM) under 6 V.S.A., chapter 34 has adopt rules establishing how the AAFM will conduct research within its hemp program and the requirements for the registration of hemp growers and processors.  These rules also address standards and expectations for record keeping, reporting, testing, and labeling, and include enforcement provisions.

Industrial hemp or hemp is the Cannabis sativa L. plant including all parts of the plant, whether growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol [THC] concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. In Vermont, hemp is considered an “agricultural product” when grown by an individual that is registered with Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets (the "Agency") as part of its pilot program. Cannabis sativa L. with a delta- 9 THC concentration greater than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis is not hemp and is not an agricultural product. 

Questions about the Hemp Program can be directed to or 802-828-1732.

Complaints about hemp cultivation or processing can reported to the Agency using the Environmental Complaint Form.


Contact Information

Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets

116 State Street
Montpelier, Vt 05620-2901


Program Contacts

  • Media Inquiries                      802.622.4662
  • Licensing & Registration        802.828.2436
  • Business Development          802.828.1619
  • Feed, Seed, Fertilizer & Lime  802.828.5050
  • Working Lands                    802.622.4477
  • Public Health & Resource Management                802.828.2431
  • Laboratory                                  802.585.6073
  • Animal Health                        802.828.2421
  • Dairy                              802.828.2433
  • Consumer Protection / Weights & Measures                           802.828.2433
  • Produce Program                  802.461.5128
  • Meat Inspection                    802.828.2426
  • Water Quality                               802.828.2431
    • Grants                                  802.622.4098
    • Enforcement                                802.828.2431
    • Reports                                      802.272.0323
    • BMP's                                      802.828.3474
  • Act 250                          802.828.2431 
  • Pesticide                        802.828.2431